Dan Brown, Alfie Jeakins and Ryan Cunningham were the big winners in the 2024 Racing Hondas Championship’s opening four rounds of the season at Anglesey whilst others also played starring roles.

Ultimately, it was the Class A cars that filled the outright podium positions in all four races. In total, the 36 podium positions up for grabs across the four races were shared by 15 different drivers …

Brown (Civic Bali) won all four races outright and also set the fastest lap in each. He led every race lap of the weekend and only a flag infringement during qualifying (which resulted in a grid penalty) meant he missed out on a maximum score.

His closest challenger was Liam Collins (supercharged Integra DC5) who took second position in the first three races. In the fourth, held on Anglesey’s full-length International circuit as opposed to the National configuration used on Saturday, Collins was much closer, pushing Brown hard until near the end when his car suffered brake failure.

Phil Wright’s defence of his 2023 crown got off to a troubled start. Third in race one, an engine failure on his Civic EP3 in race two whilst battling Collins for P2 put him out for the rest of the weekend.

James Allen (Civic EP3) and Ryan Jenkinson (Civic FN2) were only too happy, therefore, to take a share of the podium spoils. Allen bounced back from retirement in race two with third and then second on Sunday to hold third in the Class A standings behind Brown and Collins.

Two thirds for Jenkinson have placed him fourth in class ahead of Will Murfin (Civic EK) who collected points in all four races after surviving a hairy spin across the bows of the pack at the start of race two. Meanwhile, the efforts of Kevin Talbot (Integra) and Luke Harvey (Civic EK) and their crews to repair their cars from damage sustained early in the weekend were admirable.

Like Brown in Class A, Jeakins proved the driver to beat in the B division contested by Civic EP3s. He was the eventual runaway winner in class in all four races, the highlight being a fourth place outright. His closest rival on points coming away from Anglesey was team-mate Loui Hounsell who could have had more had it not been for two off-track skirmishes.

However, both Jeakins and Hounsell were pushed hard by a number of drivers over the weekend…

After mechanical problems halted his podium hopes on Saturday, Tommy Knight rebounded with a second and third in class on Sunday. Nick Charlier, second only to Jeakins in race one on Saturday, briefly led the way on Sunday only to suffer a spectacular spin. Andy Wheatley also collected a podium result.

Class B provided some of the fiercest on-track battles of the weekend which were matched on occasion by the Class C runners.

Ultimately, it was Ryan Cunningham (Civic EP3), with three wins and a second in class, who left Anglesey with the early points advantage.

The only driver to beat him in any race was Sam Linssner (EP3), with one win plus three seconds. Notably, their results have placed them second and fourth in the outright points table behind Brown and sandwiching Jeakins in third.

The final podium positions across the four races were shared by David Ward (fastest in Saturday morning’s initial qualifying session in his Civic FN2), Mark Lloyd-Jones (EP3) and then, twice on Sunday, Spencer Fortag (FN2). The latter’s second podium was achieved in exciting fashion after he resisted a final corner lunge from Ward, just half a second separating them at the line…